Hello!

Hi everyone!

Sorry for the delay (it seems like ages since I did a blog post!). I have been SO busy, becauuuuuseee… I am doing a craft fair on 8th December at the Corn Exchange in Leeds. PLEASE come along and talk to me if you’re in the area, as I will be very nervous (I haven’t done a craft fair before). I am also struggling to make enough stock, because I have had a surprising amount of commissions in the run up to Christmas, and so have been trying to get those out the way.

In anticipation of the craft fair, I had all of these lovely goodies ordered. They make me SO happy (I feel very professional!):

Postcards and Fabric Labels

Postcards, Stickers and Fabric Labels

Business Cards

Business Cards

If any of you experienced craft fair goers would like to give me advice, I would be so grateful!

Ooh, also, I finished my Tom Baker Dr Who scarf for my friend. Here was my instagram photo of the finished article:

Tom Baker Scarf

Tom Baker Scarf

It ended up being over 13 feet (4m) long! And I recon it took about 25 hours (not including blocking or weaving in ends!). I will take some better photos soon (once I finish the SECOND Tom Baker scarf I’m working on. This one is going to be a smaller version, made from a wool blend instead of acrylic).

Here are some photos of a few other things I have made recently:

Green Wool Blend Slippers

Green Wool Blend Slippers

Purple Wool Slippers

Purple Wool Slippers

Mohair Blend Slippers

Mohair Blend Slippers

These slippers have been good fun to make. I bought the pattern off ravelry. In fact, it’s the first pattern I’ve paid for. I couldn’t resist, they are just so lovely.

*If you are planning to make these yourself,Β  I have a couple of comments: The sizes tend to be quite big. If you make the size the pattern says, they may end up being quite bulky and bumpy. I’ve found the size below mine actually looked better when on (as long as you are using relatively stretchy yarn!). Also, for all the versions I’ve made of these, apart from the green ones, I didn’t bother with the extra flap and buttons at the side. In order to edit it, just start your cuff row of SCs at the heel side of the opening (without doing the starting chain), then turn at the end of each row, as before. And make sure you have an EVEN number of V-stitches before you start your crocodile stitches.*

I have made two pairs of these as commissions so far! The rest will be coming with me to my craft fair.

I have also been making: OWLS! πŸ˜€

Owl

Owl

Baby Owls!

Baby Owls!

I have loved making these! They are only small (about 10cm high), so I can whip one up in about 40 mins. The pattern can be found here. Everyone who has seen me making them has commented on how cute they are. AND they’re a great way to use up odds and ends of yarn.

Wool and Alpaca Hat

Wool and Alpaca Hat

Christmas Hat

Christmas Hat

Mohair Blend Star Hat

Mohair Blend Star Hat

100% Wool Hat

100% Wool Hat

And some hats! I enjoy making hats a lot, and have only recently got into it (until recently I found getting sizes right really hard). The pattern for the blue and grey wave hat can be found here.

Another exciting acquisition for me this week was my new (well, second hand) digital SLR camera! It is SO confusing that it’s going to take a while for me to learn how to take awesome photos, but hopefully they will be better than the rubbishy phone-photos I have been taking until now! I bought the camera from my lovely friend Lois, of www.loisdesigns.co.uk. She is a great graphic designer and website designer, so do go and check out her work.

That’s all my news for now! As always, I would love to hear from you, so do message/comment πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

